44 Hours for 36 Minutes

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 6.29.32 AM Photo by Julio

Making new friends and traveling to a new destination is what life is all about. When looking for a way on how i’d get myself to Wolfpack Hustles Austin Race I had the choices of flying there or hitching a ride with a local SoCal race team by the name of OCBrakless. I chose to travel by ground and without a doubt it was a beautiful trip through 3 states.

unnamed-3 Photo by Julio

With new friendships made and 22 hours on the road we finally hit Texas. The trip gave me a lot of time to think about why I chose racing bikes over my other hobbies. I remember when it was just me and my friends riding through the streets of Los Angeles with out any idea on where the bicycle might take us in the future. Years passed and goals have been met, I wonder if people who dream as much as me see the possibilities and shine the way towards an endless road of wonder.

IMAG0174

Making it the night before the race I was anxious to get myself on the bike. Taking two weeks off because of a fever I was more then ready to begin my race day. Austin Texas is a nice place with an immense amount of bike paths, Some locals where kind enough to help me find my way to the race course.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 11.56.19 PM Photo by Julio

I was put in qualifier group 4 and knowing that the lower the qualifier the less experienced the racers are going to be I made sure to mark the few fast guys. Luckily, I had some of SoCal’s up and coming fixed gear criterium teams like Team Throne Cycles and Team Fix Fixie with me. We where given 4 laps to get our best time trial. Right from the get go me and Cameron initiate our attacks and manage to get a killer time of 1:51 seconds giving me the 25th place spot for the final race. Due to a timing chip issue there was no cut off time so the organizer allowed everyone to race.

Processed with VSCOcam with e8 presetPhoto by Jason

The race started fast and everyone was consistently fighting for position. I stayed with the main group for the whole race and managed to dodge some nasty crashes. I felt strong and made sure to break any type of teamwork that was happening since I was the only one in my team that made it out to the race. Team solo is fun but I always need to be precise with how I’ll manipulate the race. After 30 minutes of racing the last 6 minutes turned into a huge barrage of different breakaways but most of them where caught. During that time I was recovering from being elbowed in the ribs. After a brief recovery my head was in the game. Unfortunately, I missed the winning break and was caught up on a field sprint for a 12th place finish. Live, Learn, and repeat…on to the next one.

Leave a Reply

